OFFicielle: BLING BANG

22 - 26 October 2014
Booth A32

OFF(icielle) - Les Docks / Cité de la Mode - Stand A32

BLING BANG

The grinning Silenus, fools and buffoons who hide the well hidden and preserved treasure of goodness and truth. (Giordano Bruno, Spaccio)

At the time of the jpeg, as an extension to the «proof I’ve seen it», the exhibited artists turn the hidden treasure or the mystery surrounding its disappearance into the main subject of each of the pieces gathered around the theme «Bling Bang». This disappearance requires a specific rendering in each of the proposed pieces, that of an archeology of the vanished.

Thus, under the Silenus’ amused surveillance (L’homme-singe en fausse fourrure a disparu, 2014), Hélène Delprat invoques the mythical figure of the Yeti just as much as that of Diogenes, a philosopher freed from all shame and value judgement. Moreover, it is this similar comedy that Véronique Boudier’s Joyaux magiques (2014) denounces. With an exasperated frailty, the piece states its disagreement on the true value of things and thus denounces the importance given to bogus values in our society (cf. L’ane comme les silènes : les apparences sont trompeuses by Nuccio Ordine, Le Mystère de l’âne, Essay on Giordano Bruno).
With Isabelle Le Minh and Unglee, it is the photographic image that conveys the memory of «something that was» or of «I was». Thus, in the video This is the artist by I. Le Minh, the figure of the artist, his pose in front of the camera, both obey to codes of representation so over-used that they become common place and cliché. This archiving process is invested with a mission to compensate the forthcoming absence or disappearance. Moreover, it is that same absence that Unglee tries to conjure up. Through his well named «Disparitions» (disappearances) (1993 - 1998) he brings life to another himself. A fantasied self that he kills at his leisure only to resuscitate it, breathing a particular aura into this new «Unglee filmmaker and tulip maniac». Like a foretaste of immortality. An immortality that both Kassia Knap’s work through her use of gold, folds and canvas (Paysage, 2014) and this last Brûlure du Ciel by Daniel Pommereulle, try to aspire to.
Like a distant echo to this longing for transcendence that runs through all of art history. From the VIth century Byzantine painting to the work of Yves Klein. To go beyond the surface. Like an act of resistance. All that glitters is not gold.
«In America it’s Bling bling. Down here it’s bling bang.» Leonardo Di Caprio in Blood Diamond.

Christophe Gaillard

OFFicielle: BLING BANG

22 - 26 Octobre 2014
Stand A32

OFF(icielle) - Les Docks / Cité de la Mode - Stand A32

BLING BANG

Les silènes grimaçants, comiques et histrions qui dissimulent, bien caché et gardé, le trésor de la bonté et de la vérité. (Giordano Bruno, Spaccio)

A l'heure du jpeg, sorte d'extension à «la preuve que je l'ai vu», les artistes ici présentés font du trésor caché ou du mystère entourant sa disparition le sujet central de chacune des pièces réunies autour du thème Bling Bang.
Cette disparition commande un régime particulier dans la réalisation de chacune des oeuvres proposées, celui d'une archéologie du disparu .

Ainsi sous la surveillance amusée d'un Silène (L'homme-singe en fausse fourrure a disparu, 2014), Hélène Delprat invoque tout autant la figure mythique du Yeti que celle de Diogène, philosophe libéré de toute honte, de tout jugement de valeur. C'est d'ailleurs cette même comédie que dénonce l'oeuvre de Véronique Boudier (Les joyaux magiques, 2014), laquelle, avec une fragilité exacerbée affirme son désaccord sur la vraie valeur des choses et dénonce ainsi la place accordée aux fausses valeurs dans notre société (cf. L'âne comme les silènes : les apparences sont trompeuses par Nuccio Ordine, Le Mystère de l'âne, Essai sur Giordano Bruno))
Chez Isabelle Le Minh et chez Unglee, c'est l'image photographique qui entretient la mémoire d'un «ça a été» ou d'un «j'ai été». Ainsi dans la vidéo This is the artist, 2005-2008 d'Isabelle Le Minh, la figure de l'artiste, sa pose devant l'appareil, obéissent à des codes de représentation tellement éculés qu'ils deviennent un véritable topos, un cliché (aux deux sens du terme). Ce travail d'archives est investi de la mission de suppléer l'absence ou la disparition à venir. C'est d'ailleurs cette absence qu'essaie de conjurer l'artiste Unglee. Au travers de ses justement nommées Disparitions (1993 - 1998), il donne vie à un autre lui-même. Un lui-même fantasmé, qu'il fait certes mourir à loisir mais qu'il réanime aussi à l'envi, insufflant à cet «Unglee cinéaste tulipomaniaque» une aura toute particulière. Comme un avant goût d'immortalité. Une immortalité que tentent d'approcher à la fois le travail de Kassia Knap au travers son utilisation de l'or, du pli et de la toile (Paysage, 2014) et cette ultime Brûlure du Ciel de Daniel Pommereulle.
Comme un lointain écho à cette demande de transcendance qui parcourt toute l'histoire de l'art. De la peinture byzantine du VI ème siècle jusqu'à l'oeuvre d'Yves Klein. Aller au-delà la surface. Comme un acte de résistance. Tout ce qui brille n'est pas d'or.
«In America it's Bling bling. Down here it's bling bang.» Leonardo Di Caprio dans Blood Diamond.

Christophe Gaillard