Paris Photo: Solo show w/ Thibault Hazelzet

13 - 16 November 2014

For this new edition of Paris Photo, the Galerie Christophe Gaillard proposes a Thibault Hazelzet solo show. This show presents a selection of Thibault’s emblematic series over the past ten years, as well as brand new works that are exhibited here for the first time.


Thibault Hazelzet is an experimental photographer working with a 4 x 5 camera chamber in his workshop. Thibault doesn’t replicate reality but rather invents it by recreating, for each silver print series, a particular mental universe. Playing with negative prints, reflections, screens, superimpositions and textures, each of the artist’s pieces have an obvious pictorial dimension. These manipulations, which all happen in the workshop, lead to the creation of an image which is entirely finalized on the negative, that same negative that the artist tears up once the work has been produced. By doing so, Thibault Hazelzet states his will to create photographs that are painting-like, by their imposing sizes as well as their unicity.


Two catalogues, prefaced by Quentin Bajac and Michel Poivert, presenting his work have already been published. A third one is in preparation for his next solo show at the Centre d’Arts Plastiques in Royan, in february 2015.

Paris Photo: Solo show w/ Thibault Hazelzet

13 - 16 Novembre 2014

Pour cette nouvelle édition de Paris Photo, la Galerie Christophe Gaillard propose une exposition personnelle du photographe français Thibault Hazelzet.


Articulée autour de ses séries emblématiques et de ses derniers travaux encore jamais montrés, l’exposition revient sur dix années de production en présentant plus d’une dizaine de petits et grands formats.


Thibault Hazelzet est un photographe expérimental travaillant à la chambre 4X5 dans son atelier. Il ne reproduit pas la réalité mais l’invente en créant pour chacune de ses séries argentiques un univers mental particulier. Jouant avec les tirages en négatif, les reflets, les caches, les superpositions et les textures, chacune des œuvres de l’artiste a une dimension picturale évidente. Ce travail d’atelier aboutit à la création d’une image qui se trouve entièrement finalisée sur le négatif photographique, négatif que l’artiste détruit une fois le tirage réalisé. Thibault Hazelzet indique par là sa volonté de produire des photographies qui ont valeur de tableau, tant par leur format imposant que par leur unicité.


Deux catalogues sur le travail de Thibault ont déjà été publiés, préfacés par Quentin Bajac et Michel Poivert, un troisième paraitra à l’occasion de son exposition personnelle au Centre d’Arts Plastiques de Royan en février 2015.