Stéphane Couturier FR, b. 1957

 

Stéphane Couturier was born in 1957 at Neuilly-sur-Seine. He works and lives in Paris. 

 

He began his career as an art photographer in his native Paris in the early 1990’s and has since made significant bodies of work.

 

The photographs of Stephane Couturier, whether of construction sites in Berlin, demolished buildings in Havana, or an automobile assembly plant in Valenciennes, are all about transformation, a subject he explores with a strong sense of design and composition and a specific sense of color. The resulting images, according to the Telegraph, “are characterized by a vast array of visual information and an extraordinary clarity that separates him from his contemporary German counterparts.”

 

Since 2012, numerous exhibitions have been devoted to him in institutions and galleries, both French and international: at the French Institute of Berlin (DE), 2012 and of Fukuoka (JP), 2013. His works were also exhibited at the Kornfeld Gallery in Berlin (DE) en 2012, 2015, 2020 ; and he is the subject of a massive retrospective in 2015 at the Maison Européenne de la Photographie à Paris (FR).

 

More recently his work was shown at the Photography Museum of Charleroi (BE), 2017 ; within the Artothèque of Caen (FR), 2017 ; at the Musée National Fernand Léger (FR), 2019 ; at the Arendt House in Luxembourg (LU), 2020 ; at the Artothèque of Angers (FR), 2020 ; and at the Galerie Christophe Gaillard in Paris (FR) 2020.

 

In 2021, he was exhibited in the Christophe Guye Gallery in Zurich (CH). 

 

He is also part of a number of group exhibitions including at Somerset House in London (UK), 2013 ; at the Pavillon de l’Arsenal in Paris (FR), 2015 ; at the Fondation Cartier pour l’Art Contemporain (FR), 2017 ; at the Petit Palais (FR), 2018 ; at the MUCEM in Marseille (FR), 2019 or at the Phnom-Penh Photo Festival (KH) in 2019.

 



COLLECTIONS

Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris (FR)
Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris (FR)
Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain, Strasbourg (FR)
Los Angeles County Museum (US)
San Diego Museum of Photographic Arts (US)
Galerie Nationale des Etats Unis, Washington (US)
Art Institute of Chicago (US)
Galerie nationale du Canada, Ottawa (CA)
Musée National d’Art Moderne du Grand-Duc Jean, Luxembourg (LU)
Israël Museum, Jerusalem (IL)
Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne (CH)

Stéphane Couturier est né en 1957 à Neuilly-sur-Seine. Il vit et travaille à Paris. 

 

Il est lauréat du Prix Nicéphore Niepce en 2003. 

 

Les photographies de Stéphane Couturier, qu'elles montrent un chantier à Berlin, des immeubles en ruine à la Havane ou une chaîne d'assemblage automobile à Valenciennes, parlent toutes de transformation. Un sujet qu'il aborde avec un sens certain de la construction et de la composition, assorti d'une sensibilité aiguë pour la couleur. Les images qui en résultent, selon le Telegraph, "se caractérisent par un vaste éventail d'informations visuelles et une extraordinaire clarté qui le distingue de ses homologues allemands contemporains".

 

Depuis 2012, de très nombreuses expositions lui sont consacrées dans les institutions et galeries, françaises et internationales ; aux Instituts Français de Berlin (DE), 2012 ; et de Fukuoka (JP), 2013. Son travail est également exposé à la Kornfeld Gallery à Berlin (DE) en 2012, 2015, 2020 ; et il fait l’objet d’une importante rétrospective en 2015 à la Maison Européenne de la Photographie à Paris (FR). 

 

Plus récemment son travail a été exposé au Musée de la Photographie de Charleroi (BE), 2017 ; au sein de l'Artothèque de Caen (FR), 2017 ; au Musée National Fernand Léger (FR), 2019 ; à l’Arendt House au Luxembourg (LU), 2020 ; à l'Artothèque d’Angers (FR), 2020 ; et à la Galerie Christophe Gaillard à Paris (FR) 2020.

 

En 2021, il fait l’objet d’une exposition à la Galerie Christophe Guye à Zurich (CH). 

 

Il prend également part à un grand nombre d’expositions collectives notamment à la Somerset House à Londres (UK), 2013 ; au Pavillon de l’Arsenal à Paris (FR), 2015 ; à la Fondation Cartier pour l’Art Contemporain (FR), 2017 ; au Petit Palais (FR), 2018 ; au Mucem à Marseille (FR), 2019 ou encore au Phnom Penh Photo Festival (KH) en 2019.

 


 

 

COLLECTIONS

Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris (FR)

Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris (FR)

Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain, Strasbourg (FR)

Los Angeles County Museum (US)

San Diego Museum of Photographic Arts (US)

Galerie Nationale des Etats Unis, Washington (US)

Art Institute of Chicago (US)

Galerie nationale du Canada, Ottawa (CA)

Musée National d’Art Moderne du Grand-Duc Jean, Luxembourg (LU)

Israël Museum, Jerusalem (IL)

Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne (CH)